Who’s the manicmedic?

I’ve posted one of these posts before but I signed up for wordpress’ blogging 101 course and I also figured I’d introduce myself to new people since I haven’t posted in awhile…

My name is Joe, I’m 33 years old and live in Southern New Jersey. I’m in the middle of a divorce but if that isn’t bad enough, I have a mental illness.

I was diagnosed with bipolar disorder about 10 years ago as I was going through a series of hospitalizations. It hasn’t been a easy time for me but I learned a lot from the experience.

Working as an emergency medical technician I had decided to keep my illness a secret, keeping it hidden from my friends and colleagues. The best way for me to work through my days were to write, so my pen name, manicmedic was born. Shortly through the process I had decided I didn’t want to hide anymore, I want to write about my experiences to show people that they don’t need to hide and that there are people who will accept them for who they are. I hope you all enjoy my story…

11 thoughts on “Who’s the manicmedic?

  1. Awesome – good on you. In Australia there is still such a stigma and much misunderstanding around mental illness as a whole, and it takes people such as yourself to start talking about it, to bring it out of the “darkness” so to speak and into the social consciousness. Much respect and best of luck to you!

  2. Well done for not hiding and for speaking up. I’m sure you will be helping many others out there.
    An emergency medic technician – excuse my question, but is that like a paramedic?

  3. Awesome Joe! It takes courage to open up and not hide any more. I also have a mental illness called Dysthymia. It has been a changelle to find my ‘normal’ and recognize and remember who ‘I am. I have just started to be more open with people about my illness and it so hard but at the ame time relieving! It is important to speak up and share our stories so there isn’t a stigma! Well done to you for being so open! Thank you! It helps and encourages me to do the same!

  4. Thank you for this. I was just diagnosed literally a few days ago. I have been sitting here thinking if i should hide, will this prevent me from becoming a nurse? So many questions and dont know where to look or ask. Thank you again!

    • Heather, I would be so glad to help you understand and cope with whatever you may need. It was very hard for me to get to the point where I am today and I still have my bad days. I added you on twitter and if ever have any questions or want to vent privately please feel free to dm me.

Leave a Reply

