Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2014/03/17/writing-challenge-names/

This is the first time I decided to try this, apparently wordpress publishes weekly writing challenges as well as daily blogging ideas and this one caught my interest, my take on it below:

For this week’s challenge, we’re asking you to explore your history with names. What meaning does your name have to you? What power does it have over you? Do you have a nickname when you are at home, but not in the world at large? Or vice versa?

My real name Joseph William Thomas, my first name comes from my two uncles, one’s first name is William, the other’s middle name is Joseph. Not every original huh?

When I started this blog however I originally decided that I didn’t want my real name to be know, mainly due to the content of the blog and the stigma that is a given with mental illness, (I have bipolar disorder) so I picked the name “Manic Medic” I thought it was a interesting play on words “Manic” from the manic stage of bipolar disorder where I seem to spend most of my time and “Medic” to go along with my previous career as an EMT.

18 thoughts on “Weekly Writing Challege: Power of Names

  1. Pingback: Melissa|The Meaning | melissuhhsmiles

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | B.Kaotic

  3. Pingback: A Rose by Any Other Name… | Artfully Aspiring

  4. Pingback: Porkchops | I'm a Writer, Yes I Am

  5. Pingback: What’s in a Name? | Lead us from the Unreal to the Real

  6. Pingback: The Wedding Paper: My name, your name, our name | The Bohemian Rock Star's "Untitled Project"

  7. Pingback: We, the Dragons, shall live, for all eternity! | Wired With Words

  8. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | A mom's blog

  9. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power of Names | Writing Canvas

  10. Pingback: [Weekly Writing Challenge] The power of its name… | 3rdculturechildren

  11. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Names | Reflections and Nightmares- Irene A Waters (writer and memoirist)

  12. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Power Of Names | imagination

  13. Pingback: The 7th of June 1983 – Laurel, Delaware | Forgotten Correspondence

  14. Pingback: THE HASTY TRADITION | Hastywords

  15. Pingback: Withered Past | Stealing All the Sevens

  16. Pingback: Stuck on Conchiglie | litadoolan

  17. Pingback: DP Weekly Challenge : A 99 word story, “All’s in a Name” | Challenged for Words

  18. Pingback: ALIENORA: WEEKLY WRITING CHALLENGE! NAMES… | ALIEN AURA'S BlOG: IT'LL BLOW YOUR MIND!

Leave a Reply

