Lets talk…. Part one

Again I can’t sleep. Basically after taking the week off from working my wife and I (who also has bipolar, among other diagnosis) resulted to sleeping a majority of the days away, meaning I can’t sleep at night. So, I sit up… Ok, im laying on the floor of our bedroom (we don’t currently own a bed) and listening to the soundtrack to next to normal.

I noticed among other bloggers on twitter that its mental health awareness week, or at least I think it is, and the highlight of the week is talking about your illness.

So let me tell my story, or at least the first part of it…..

I don’t remember much from my childhood. Just glimpses of different events and what im reminded in pictures, which to my knowledge only cover before school aged.

From what I do remember is sad. I’ve also had little friends and for the most part didn’t let people in my life, that continues to this day. Through school I’ve been made fun of because of my size, my looks, and other things. But it wasn’t til high school where I really remember much of my past.

I was depressed alot, but I never told anyone. I only expressed it in my writing, especially for my English classes. Often I’d write a story where the main character met their demise by suicide. More than once it landed me in the guidance office and even once a visit with the school shrink. All those times I’d pass things off as an innocent story where in fact I needed help…..

One thought on “Lets talk…. Part one

  1. I think this is common – writing as a means of expressing a call for help. And I think it’s the adults’ and health professionals’ roles in our lives to recognize these signals and help us.

Leave a Reply

